Three Finalists Announced for the 2019 Bloom Burton Award

Award Recognizes the Year’s Most Significant Contributor to Canada’s
Innovative Healthcare Industry

TORONTO–(BUSINESS WIRE)–Bloom Burton & Co. is pleased to announce the three finalists for the
2019 Bloom Burton Award. Bestowed annually, the Bloom Burton Award
honours the individual scientist, inventor, executive, entrepreneur,
industry leader, or policy maker who made the greatest contribution to
Canada’s innovative healthcare industry in the previous year. Nominees
were accepted from any of the biotechnology, pharmaceutical, medical
device, diagnostic/imaging, research instrumentation, consumer health,
services or health tech sectors, and equal consideration was given to
contributions across any stage of development – from discovery to
commercial end markets.

The finalists are, in alphabetical order:

  • Gilbert Godin, President and Chief Operating Officer, and Greg Gubitz,
    Chief Executive Officer, HLS Therapeutics;
  • David Lickrish, President and Chief Executive Officer of Highland
    Therapeutics; and
  • Poul Sorensen, Professor, Department of Pathology and Laboratory
    Medicine, University of British Columbia, and Distinguished Scientist,
    BC Cancer Agency.

All three finalists will be invited to and celebrated at the Bloom
Burton Award Gala on September 26, 2019 at the Four Seasons Hotel in
Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Each of the three finalists will receive a
$25,000 cash prize and a single winner will receive the 2019 Bloom
Burton Award.

The Bloom Burton Award finalists and winner are chosen by an independent
panel of esteemed judges, all of whom are respected international
leaders in healthcare investment, entrepreneurship and journalism. The
panel includes:

  • Michael Altman, Managing Director, Perceptive Advisors
  • Karen Bernstein, Co-Founder and Chairman, BioCentury Inc.
  • Cecilia Gonzalo, Partner, Oberland Capital
  • Carl Gordon, Partner and Co-Head of Global Private Equity, OrbiMed
  • Dennis Purcell, Founder and Senior Advisor, Aisling Capital
  • Melinda Richter, Global Head of Johnson & Johnson Innovation, JLABS
  • Mayukh Sukhatme, President, Roivant Sciences

Jolyon Burton, co-founder and President of Bloom Burton commented, “We
received a number of exceptional nominations for the 2019 Bloom Burton
Award, and it was a very difficult task for our distinguished panel of
judges to select these three finalists from all the nominated
candidates. We are delighted that this year’s finalists represent all
the best facets of meaningful and lasting healthcare innovation – from
scientific, translational and commercial innovation – to private and
public company entrepreneurs who took significant risk along their
journeys to bring much needed medicines to market. We are looking
forward to celebrating their achievements and recognizing their
significant contributions to healthcare at this year’s Bloom Burton
Award Gala.”

A limited number of table sponsorships and tickets are available. Please
visit www.bloomburton.com.


Brian Bloom
Chairman & Chief Executive Officer
[email protected]

Eleanor Ndaiga
Manager, Communications & Events
[email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.